Two new Ministers have today been sworn in to State Cabinet at a ceremony at Government House.

Leesa Vlahos has been appointed as Minister for Disabilities as well as Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse while Peter Malinauskas has been appointed Minister for Police, Emergency Services, Correctional Services and Road Safety.

Premier Jay Weatherill said the reshuffle provides South Australia with the best possible team to tackle the challenges that confront the State.

“I congratulate Leesa Vlahos and Peter Malinauskas on their appointments to Cabinet – they are both aware that there is a lot of hard work to be done and are both up to the task in front of them,” Mr Weatherill said.

“This will be a year where the focus will be on implementing our plan to transform the State’s economy and both Ms Vlahos and Mr Malinauskas will have important roles to play.

“Ms Vlahos will be tasked with the important state-wide rollout of the NDIS, which will support more than 32,000 South Australians with a disability and create more than 6000 new jobs in the sector.

“Mr Malinauskas will be responsible for important agencies tasked with community safety, as well as monitoring what is a potentially dangerous fire season.”

Kyam Maher has been named the Leader of Government Business in the Legislative Council.

Other changes to portfolios announced today include:
• Mr Maher gains Science and Information Technology and Employment (from Gail Gago)
• Susan Close picks up Higher Education and Skills (from Ms Gago)
• Martin Hamilton-Smith adds Small Business (from Tom Koutsantonis)
• Stephen Mullighan takes on Housing and Urban Development (from John Rau)

The new portfolio of City of Adelaide is recognition of Mr Rau’s coordination of the Vibrant City agenda while Business Services and Consumers complemented his Liquor Licencing reforms.

Zoe Bettison gains the Status of Women portfolio from Ms Gago.

Mr Weatherill said the central focus of the new Cabinet would be about creating jobs and transitioning the State’s economy.

“This reshuffle has allowed me to lighten the load of some of our senior Ministers to allow them to concentrate more on the challenges and big issues we are facing in the key portfolios,” he said.

“It has also allowed some of the newer Ministers to step up and take on extra challenges.”

Chris Picton has also been appointed Assisting Minister to the Treasurer and Katrine Hildyard will continue as Assistant Minister to the Premier with additional responsibility for Status of Women.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s