COOBER PEDY News & Events


In the first set of results SA has provisionally welcomed six new mayors:
• Angela Keneally at Charles Sturt;
• Stephen Patterson at Holdfast Bay;
• Reg Lyon at Kingston;
• Brenton Lewis at Murray Bridge;
• Graham Excell at Tatiara; and
• Steve Staines at Coober Pedy
And re-elected three Mayors
• Peter Slattery at Flinders Ranges;
• Sam Johnson at Pt Augusta; and,
• Bruce Green at Pt Lincoln,

In addition to those elected unopposed.

Final Council election tallies will not be known for some days but the count to date indicated about 4000 more people voted this year than in 2010 Local Government Elections.

Local Government Association President, David O’Loughlin said the extra 4,000 voters lifted voter turnout to 31%, only slightly behind the last two elections where it was 31.6% and 32.4%.

In the first official feed of results from SA’s Electoral Commission full or partial results were declared in 30 Councils.

Mayor O’Loughlin congratulated ECSA saying applying the proportional representation system to around 600,000 ballot papers for 1261 candidates in 189 separate elections for 629 positions in 65 Councils was no mean feat.

“We look forward to more results over the next few days as counts progress.

LGA President, Mayor David O’Loughlin said he thanked all the 1,261 candidates for contesting the elections and those who had been returned unopposed.

“The elections this year have been hard fought in many cases and I commend the predominantly civil conduct of all candidates across SA,” Mayor O’Loughlin said.

“All Mayoral positions should be known by tomorrow (Sunday) and counting is expected to continue until the middle of the week.”

Further information can be found at